to those of you who celebrate it, and best wishes of the season to those who do not.

This sparsely decorated douglas fir  is a monument to the virtues of procrastination.  As a general rule, when it comes time to select a Christmas tree, I tromp all through the forest in search of a small noble fir that is the right size and located in the wrong place for long term growth.  The noble fir is of little commercial value for lumber, so I have no qualms about sacrificing one to Christmas.  Once the tree has been chosen and cut, it usually gets stuffed down inside a pair of Carhartt coveralls for the trip to California, where it is then decorated with the hand crafted ornaments that have been collected over a lifetime.

This year, I tromped the woods as usual and selected several potential candidates.  Back in the house, I glanced out the kitchen window and noticed something that I have been trying very hard not to see: a douglas fir growing in the middle of the lilac patch.  Over the past couple of years, I have asked Bill time and again to take a chainsaw to this tree.  Concealed among the leaves of summer, I can ignore it – sort of – but, in the stark leafless tracery of winter, it was sticking out like a sore thumb.  “I want that one!”, I exclaimed, pointing out the window.  Five minutes later, I had a full size Christmas tree in the house.  An hour later, I had rustled some lights out of the back of my closet, and added some  tatted snowflakes, candy canes and chocolates.  There are huckleberry taffy and mandarin oranges yet to add, which is why it is looking a little sparse.

It brings light and cheer to a snowy Christmas.  Joy, Peace, and good fellowship to you all!

